RSS

Beef Stewed with Soy Bean Paste

05 Dec

It’s almost lunch time and all I have are some leftover steamed broccoli and brown rice in my fridge and 2 lbs of boneless beef chuck roast. I felt like eating something of the Asian flavor so I turned to my Chinese cooking bible: The Best of Chinese Cooking by Betty Saw.  My mother bought me this book when I was in college and I must say that I’ve never been disappointed with any recipe in there.

I came across this recipe that didn’t require any marinating except that it required about 2 hours of stewing on the stove. My solution? My handy dandy pressure cooker! it would cut the cooking/braising/stewing time to 1/3 of what was needed for a flavor-packed and oh-so-tender meat dish. I chose an electric pressure cooker
because I could set it on and then forget about it and do other things — such as clean my kitchen — until it beeps when the food’s ready.

Lunch was delicious! My kitchen clean and all’s left is to wash my pressure cooker insert pot and I’m done!

Beef Stewed with Soy Bean Paste 

(adapted from The Best of Chinese Cooking by Betty Saw)
Serves: 4      Prep time: 5 min     Cook time: 35 min in pressure cooker or (1.5hr — 2hr in regular pot)       <View/print recipe only>

Ingredients

  • 2lb stewing beef (cut into 1in cubes)
  • 2 tbs cooking oil
  • 5 cloves garlic (Minced or pounded with mortar and pestle)
  • 1 tbs preserved soy bean paste
  • 2 inches of ginger (shredded or pounded with mortar and pestle)
  • 2 small star anise
  • 1 in piece cinnamon stick

Sauce ingredients

  • 1 cup beef stock
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp white pepper
  • 1 tsp thick soy sauce
  • 1 tbs light soy sauce

Garnish

  • 2 stalks spring onion, chopped
  • 2 Thai Red chillies (seeded and chopped)
  • Cilantro leaves

Directions

  1. Put oil in the pressure cooker, turn it on and start the Browning function. When oil is hot, stir-fry garlic, ginger and soy bean paste until fragrant.
  2. Put in the star anise and cinnamon and stir-fry for half a minute.
  3. Add the beef and toss until it browns.
  4. Pour in sauce ingredients. Be sure to scrape the bottom of the pressure cooker for any bits stuck at the bottom. Cancel the browning function and set to High Pressure. Program the cook time to 30 minutes and press Start. (If not using pressure cooker, add an additional 2.5 cups of beef broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and summer for 1.5 to 2 hours until meat is tender, then skip to step #6)
  5. When 30 minutes is up, Quick-release the pressure and unlock lid when all pressure is released.
  6. Garnish the beef [For me personally, chilli is a must, the slight spiciness adds tremendously to the overall taste]
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 5, 2011 in Beef, Pressure Cooker

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
